Policy Board

The Policy Board, in guiding the development of the Five-Year Consolidated Plan, formulates strategies, establishes goals, lays out objectives, and sets priorities based on needs assessment feedback from residents and stakeholders. The Board establishes a competitive scoring and ranking application process, evaluates project applications, and recommends the best projects to the Shelby County Commission to be included in the Annual Action Plan. The Shelby County Commission, following a public comment period and public hearing, will consider the recommendation and public feedback. Prior to submission to HUD, the Shelby County Commission has to adopt both the Five-Year Consolidated Plan and Annual Action Plan.

The Board consists of a representative from each of the thirteen participating municipalities in the Urban County and the County Manager, who represents Shelby County. The County Manager chairs the Board. Each participating municipality also selects an alternate in case the member is unable to attend a meeting. Alternates are encouraged to attend the meetings to keep abreast of the Policy Board’s actions and provide additional input.

Policy Board Members

Shelby CountyChad Scroggins 
AlabasterBrian BinzerMark Frey
CaleraConnie PaytonJon Graham, Mayor
ChelseaChris Grace, CouncilpersonTony Picklesimer, Mayor
ColumbianaRicky Ruston, CouncilpersonCharlene Tucker
HarpersvilleTheoangelo Perkins, MayorJanet Gill, Councilperson
HelenaBrian Puckett, MayorAmanda Traywick
Indian Springs VillageRichard Harley, CouncilpersonDale Elliott, Councilperson
MontevalloDavid King, CouncilpersonSteve Gilbert
PelhamMichael SimonGretchen DiFante
VincentJames Latimer, MayorDarryl Wood, Councilperson
WestoverRoberta Stamp, CouncilpersonLarry Riggins, Mayor
WilsonvilleChrista HendersonScotty Morris
WiltonDeborah Hudson, MayorGlenn Dabbs, Councilperson


November 8, 2023 (1:00 PM)Grande Hall at Old Mill SquareView Agenda
January 17, 2024 (1:00 PM)County Administration BuildingTBD